• Wed. Aug 17th, 2022



See list: National Merit semifinalists named in Orleans, Jefferson and St. Tammany parishes | Crescent City community news

The National Merit Scholarship Corp. has announced the names of New Orleans, Jefferson and St. Tammany Parish semifinalists in the 2021 National Merit scholarship program.

To be considered for National Merit, students take the PSAT/NMSQT standardized tests in their junior year of high school.  

About 16,000 seniors were named semifinalists nationally this year. The high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for about 7,600 National Merit scholarships worth more than $30 million that will be offered next spring. More than 90% of the semifinalists are expected to attain finalist standing.  

The local semifinalists are:

East Jefferson

Archbishop Chapelle High School: Anna C. Nussbaum.

Haynes Academy for Advanced Studies: Billal Amer, Jieni Chen, Alexis R. Couret, Daniela Garcia, Edwin P. Gregory, Rachel Guan, Eunchae Kang, Ryan J. Sullivan, Kiet Thai, Alex Wang and Paul Yeon. 

Metairie home-schooler Yusuf N. Malik. 

Metairie Park Country Day School: Ryan J. Cooper, Caroline A. Koppel and Grayson Myers. 

St. Martin’s Episcopal School: Renee A. Angerer, Isabella Bartholomew and Clara G. Conatser. 

New Orleans

Academy of the Sacred Heart: Sarah C. Dowd, Caroline A. Evans and Katie P. Gardes. 

Benjamin Franklin High School: Crane J. Benson, Grant D. Bostick, John A. Creevy, Jaedon E. Duckworth, Dexter Friis-Hecht, James W. Holliday, Allyson F. Judge, Audrey W. Mann, Zoe K. Marquis, Ronan A. McDade, Pierce Minor, Adam J. Raslan, Susan Tang, Grace Tran, Tony T. Tran, Anya R. Trumbach, Benjamin P. Verlander, Larsen A. Vincent, Katherine M. Weaver, Ava R. Wilkes, Derek D. Witzig, Zachary D. Zemmels and Michael R. Zengel. 

Brother Martin High School: Matthew P. Armbruster, Patrick H. Carter, Sean Michael Cursain, Francis M. Disalvo, Camilo J. Fernandez-Bellorin and Jared J. Pelegrin.

Jesuit High School: Jackson J. Cheramie, Christopher M. Ciaccio, Michael D. Daly, Aiden M. Devine, Andrew C. McNeil, Kohlmann R. Moore, Connor J. Myers, Ian H. Reily, Marcelo O. Torres, Garrison L. Trahant, Jackson T. Wallace and William J. Zinsel. 

Lusher Charter School: Brynn M. Beatty, Benjamin M. Gancarz-Davies, Madeleine M. Leyton-High, Mikayla Morse, Ellen M. Rogers, Niccolo J. Turillo and Greyson A. Wisdom. 

Mount Carmel Academy: Margaret A. Dunn, Danna Masri and Abigail R. Nolan. 

Isidore Newman School: Jeff T. Amoss, Lia P. Bu, Andre J. Dumez, William G. Gottsegen, Christian G. Hooper, David A. Luongo, Austin K. Passler and Nithya Ramcharan. 

St. Mary’s Dominican High: Sydney C. Raymond.

West Bank

Patrick F. Taylor Science and Technology Academy: Colin P. Doherty, Alexander M. Havard, Janee D. Kovacs, Hermione P. Lam, Chris G. Ngo, Nathan Nguyen, Joseph F. Schexnayder and Trevor D. Treadway.

Thomas Jefferson High School: Cole J. Collins, Jace C. Collins, Tommy T. Nguyen, Leilah I. Pozo, Henry B. Tran and John Trang.

St. Tammany

ARCHBISHOP HANNAN: Sarah Burvant, Marie-Claire Honoree and Kathleen Rush

CHRIST EPISCOPAL: Benjamin Sterling and Gabrielle Uson

FONTAINEBLEAU HIGH SCHOOL: Andrew Daniel and Jackson Heap

LAKESHORE HIGH SCHOOL: Carson Cooper and Michael Lemmler

MANDEVILLE HIGH SCHOOL: Mitchell Domangue, Meghan Drane, Drake Dunaway and Raedan Stephens 

NORTHSHORE HIGH SCHOOL: Joshua Hou and Christopher Latournerie 

ST. PAUL’S SCHOOL: Benjamin Broussard, Lucca Ferrante, Gabriel Gros, Axel Henderson, Jake Holincheck, Hunter Kergosien, Davis Lagarde, Arthur Paine and Brady Talley




Source Article