• Tue. Oct 20th, 2020



Asian Cooperative Agreement Convenes 49th Annual Meeting to Discuss Regional Priorities, Challenges and Solutions

Jane Gerardo-Abaya, Director of the TC Division for Asia and the Pacific, provided the opening and closing remarks to the regional meeting. (Photo: O. Yusuf/IAEA) 

Evaluating Impact

Delegates also discussed the conclusions of the first of several planned socio-economic assessments of RCA projects.

Using mutation breeding projects to help pilot the approach, the impact assessments are designed to identify value added beyond the primary research undertaken by individual countries.

“The impact assessment found that the RCA has supported a significant body of mutation breeding research, including over 7,300 promising breeding lines with superior quality traits to previous crops, and 254 mutant varieties of crops certified and officially released,” said Sinh Van Hoang, IAEA Programme Management Officer. “The key impacts of this research include increased food production, enhanced environmental protection, strengthened regional capacity and capabilities and growing competitiveness in international markets.”

In the last 48 years, the Agreement has contributed to the development of technical and human resource capacities in the region through more than 150 TC projects—the impact assessments will clarify how and to what extent those projects, broken down according to thematic area, have shaped and contributed positively to the rising quality of life in the region.


RCA is an intergovernmental agreement among the IAEA Member States located in South, Asia, South-East Asia and the Pacific and the Far East.

Established in 1972, the RCA was organized to promote, coordinate and implement cooperative research, development and training projects to support the peaceful application of nuclear science and technology amongst the parties to the RCA.

At present, there are 22 State Parties to the RCA: Australia, Bangladesh, Cambodia, China, Fiji, India, Indonesia, Japan, Laos, Malaysia, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, New Zealand, Pakistan, Palau, Philippines, Singapore, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Thailand and Viet Nam.

Further information on the activities of the RCA can be obtained by visiting the Agreement’s official website.

Source Article